Daily Prompt · Diary · Fashion · Personal

Daily Prompt: Elegant

via Daily Prompt: Elegant

el·e·gant

/ˈeləɡənt/
adjective
pleasingly graceful and stylish in appearance or manner.
“she will look elegant in black”

I have always been a clumsy person. I’m the type that trips over her own feet. Usually a shoelace is involved. I have a catalog of wardrobe malfunctions.  Perhaps it’s because I see myself with an internal myopic lens: focusing on the embarrassing, negative things about myself.  Other people may not see this but I do.
I remember one time I was smoking a cigarette in front of a clinic.  One of the nurses looked at me and said, “I never got into smoking but the way you hold your cigarette is so elegant.”

Years later, I still find that to be one of the most interesting observations about myself. Cigarette smoking is seen as a filthy habit. This woman saw a graceful moment in an act that some people find distasteful.

Elegance is a subjective thing. People usually see classic clothing as elegant. I  find various styles fall in this category – steampunk, rockabilly, goth, punk… A simple t-shirt and jeans outfit can be chic and elegant.  Fashion is about expressing yourself visually. It really comes down to how a person carries themself.

I think have become more comfortable with myself as I got older. Now I really don’t care what people think about me. I dress to please myself. My clothes have to be comfortable – no high heels for me! As long as I’m true to myself that’s good enough.

 

Leave a Reply

